Monday, July 22, 2024

2022 Grow for the Green Soybean Yield Challenge application period officially open

Entry deadline is August 1, 2022
The 2022 Grow for the Green Soybean Yield Challenge is now open for applications through August 1, 2022.

The application period for the 12th annual Grow for the Green Soybean Yield Challenge is officially open now through August 1, 2022.

Soybean producers in Arkansas are eligible and encouraged to participate in this year’s contest administered by the Arkansas Soybean Association (ASA) and funded by the Arkansas Soybean Promotion Board (ASPB), with crop management assistance provided by the University of Arkansas Extension Services (UADA).

Participating producers from across the state compete for a chance at winning a cash prize for producing the crop with the highest yield in their region. The contest was established to recognize and reward the top soybean producers in Arkansas, collect valuable production data and promote best production practices in the state.

“The Grow for the Green Soybean Yield Challenge continues to play an important role in Arkansas soybean production,” said Brad Doyle, GFG Chairman for the Arkansas Soybean Association and Poinsett County farmer.

“While encouraging more production, it’s also an opportunity to demonstrate the soybean industry’s importance and value to the state’s economy.”

The 2022 edition of the contest follows the form of previous years in which the state is divided into seven geographic regions or categories, plus one conventional (non-GMO) category, that covers the entire state. These include:

  1. Northeast Delta: Mississippi, Crittenden, and East of Crowley’s Ridge in Clay, Greene, Craighead, Poinsett, Cross counties
  2. Northeast: Randolph, Lawrence and West of Crowley’s Ridge in Clay, Greene, Craighead, Poinsett, Cross counties
  3. White River Basin: Independence, Jackson, Woodruff, White, Monroe counties
  4. Central & Grand Prairie: Pulaski, Lonoke, Prairie, Arkansas counties
  5. East Central Delta: St. Francis, Lee, Phillips, Desha (Snow Lake Area) counties
  6. Southeast Delta: Jefferson, Lincoln, Drew, Ashley, Chicot, Desha counties
  7. Western: Remainder of the state
  8. Conventional Division: Entire State non-GMO production.

Cash prizes for each category will be awarded to the top three producers at the ASA Annual Meeting in January 2023.

Those who place first in each category will receive a cash prize of $7,500, second place contestants will receive $5,000 and third place contestants will collect $2,500. Producers who achieve 100 bushels for the first time are eligible to receive a portion of an additional $5,000 in prize money and a paid registration to the 2023 Commodity Classic in Orlando, Florida.

For existing members of the 100 Bushel Club, producers will compete in a category against each other for a $10,000 grand prize. As an added bonus, producers who submit their harvest report are eligible to receive a $100 incentive.

“The participating growers remain the leaders in the industry by staying updated on the latest scientific development,” said Donald Morton, ASPB chairman and soybean producer from Prairie County. “This contest recognizes the passion they have for their work and continues furthering the soybean industry in Arkansas.”

Production data and contest results from 2021 and previous years are available here. Entry forms and contest rules are available upon request from your local county extension agent or by contacting the ASA office at 501-666-1418. Applications can also be downloaded here.


Related Articles

E-News Sign Up

Connect with Soybean South