Matt Miles again tops Arkansas Grow for the Green yield contest

linwood wells
Linwood Wells (right) placed first in the Northeast Delta Division with  97.1 bushels per acre. Sons Jeff (left) and Lin helped — photo by Dave Freeze, Greene County Extension

The Arkansas Soybean Promotion Board and the Arkansas Soybean Association recently announced the winners of the 2020 Grow for the Green Soybean Yield Contest.

The contest divided state soybean producers into nine groups, seven geographic regions, one all-state conventional (non-GMO) category and new for 2020, a champions category.

Cash prizes were awarded to the top 3 producers in each division achieving a minimum of 60 bushels per acre. Winners were announced recently at the 2021 annual meeting of the Arkansas Soybean Association.

We want to commend all of the 76 soybean producers who entered the 2020 Grow for the Green Soybean Yield Contest. Two reached and exceeded the 100 bushel-per-acre acre milestone in 2020.

The Race for 100 Yield Contest began in 2007.  In 2013, the first three producers reached the goal. Ronnie Ragsdell from Lawrence County is the newest member of the 100 Bushel Club with a yield of 104.067 bushels per acre. Ragsdell grew Pioneer P48A60X and became the 23rd producer to join the coveted group.

Matt Miles from Desha County once again hit the 100-bushel mark with a yield of 116.858 bushels per acre growing Pioneer P47A64X. He became the winner of the first Champion of Champions category.2020 arkansas soybean yields

View the complete results at

The Grow for the Green Yield Soybean Yield Challenge is funded by the Arkansas Soybean Promotion Board using producer checkoff funds. The contests are administered by the Arkansas Soybean Association in cooperation with the University of Arkansas System Division of Agriculture.

Many thanks to the county Extension staff and independent consultants who help producers achieve these yields and serve as harvest judges. Complete contest harvest information is available on the websites of the Arkansas Soybean Promotion Board and the Arkansas Soybean Association. This file contains production information on contests since 1999.

The Arkansas Soybean Association contributed this article.

Related Articles

Connect with Soybean South

E-News Sign Up